The More You Eat, the Hungrier You Get

Some time ago our pastor preached a series entitled, “Life in the Fast Lane.” It was about our need to establish margin in our lives so we can do the things that matter most. Jobs, relationships, social media, activities and responsibilities keep us scattered. Our busyness can leave no time for important things.

The sermons were practical as he showed us how to examine our lives daily in the presence of Christ. He gave tools to help. I was convicted. (Sermons on Life in the Fast Lane.)

I felt the need to repent of mismanaged time and resources. However, I felt greater sorrow later as I realized that I leave behind satisfaction and joy in Christ by spending excess time on inconsequential things.

John Piper reflects on this in A Hunger for God, “If you don’t feel strong desires for the manifestation of the glory of God, it is not because you have drunk deeply and are satisfied. It is because you have nibbled so long at the table of the world. Your soul is stuffed with small things, and there is no room for the great.”

Christ on a path with a childJohn Piper goes on to say that we will find that as we walk deeply with Christ, we will be hungrier for Him. We will become homesick for heaven. Our desires for God’s kingdom will deepen; our longing for liberty to prisoners and justice for the oppressed will grow. Our passion to see the Church purified, unified and awakened will intensify. As a result of feeding and being satisfied, we become dissatisfied with anything that is less than the glory of God being made known among all the people everywhere.

What irony: the more we are satisfied, the hungrier we get.

I recently went to a wedding reception for my son. The food was the best I’ve ever eaten. Multiple waiters served course after course: imported cheeses, delicious appetizers, pork bellies, salmon, and rich dishes with unusually paired seasonings. Carefully chosen wine and champagne flowed like water. I wanted to keep eating because it was so scrumptious, but I became stuffed and reached a point of absolute satiation and discomfort. NO MORE FOOD PLEASE!

Not so with Christ—when you taste and see that the Lord is good, you become hungrier for more of Him. A dear friend used to say, “We as Christians should be satisfied with a dissatisfied satisfaction.” He is all you want and need, but there is so much more of Him to yearn for and know.

So, I don’t order my days so I can do “more” and become frenetic again. I do it so I can admire Christ and His finished work at the cross. As I stand in wonder of all that is revealed in Christ, my satisfaction will lead to greater hunger for the things God is passionate about. As I delight in Christ in solitude, I begin to prioritize my life intentionally eliminating the good for the better and best.

So, I will draw near to the throne of grace so that I can taste and see that the Lord is good. When I’m with Him in intimacy and trust, I remember how much I need Him.

This is not life in the fast lane. It is life on a footpath with Christ where His loving companionship keeps us hungry for more and more of Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

