Water for Runners

after-losing-66-pounds-runner-wins-a-135-mile-ultramarathon-through-the-hottest-place-on-earthI’m feeling old. In the distance I see a fast-approaching finish line, and I can’t see the starting point when I look back at where I began.

What started as a race that I thought was a winnable 100-yard dash, now looks more like a marathon with only a few miles remaining. Frankly, I just hope to cross the finish line in one piece. As I glance over my shoulder and see those behind me—I want to pull off to the side, set up a watering station, and give encouragement to other younger runners with steadier strides and further left to go.

George Bernard Shaw said, “Youth is wasted on the young.” Age creates perspective and regret, thankfulness and sorrow. If only I had… I wish I had  learned that sooner. Why did I do that?

I yearn to go back and re-live parts of my life with my 60+ -years of experience and a younger body (minus PMS madness). I’m sure things would look a little different now. But I must admit that I still have some of the same life-long issues.

For instance:

I DO sweat small stuff and others realize it. (But I do know how to say, “I’m sorry; I was wrong.”)

I often feel small, insignificant and fearful. (Though I have learned that I am valued and loved.)

I still forget the excellencies of Christ in my daily journey of dishes, dogs and dirt. (Although I know they are there, and I didn’t understand what that meant for most of my life.)

I still seek my kingdom more often than His—and I often blur which is His and which is mine. (Maybe I get it right occasionally, but mostly I’m just confused.)

I still haven’t figured out how to love others when I’m weary—and many times when I’m not. (Maybe it’d be more loving to take a nap and shut up.)

I don’t always take the time to pray more and say less. (However, I do pray more and say less.)

I forget the glory and grace of God and am not always captivated by His love. (Even so, I am aware of His glory and grace and have been captivated by His love many times—and that’s more than I knew was possible when I began.)

So, what would I say to those passing by my watering station? What eternal advice would I give?Entrainement-marathon_5

For Christian runners, my advice would be, “Seek to know Christ and His glory and grace, and to be captivated by His love for you and those around you.”

For non-believing racers, my advice would be, “Seek to know Christ and His glory and grace, and to be captivated by His love for you and those around you.”

Then, I’d cup their sweaty faces in my wrinkled hands, look them squarely in the eye, and say, “You are deeply loved by a God who gave Himself to bring hope to your hopelessness, forgiveness to your guilty soul, and resurrection life to your dying body. I’d hug them (getting wet and smelly in the process) and say once again as they continued the race, “Don’t forget, seek to know Christ and His glory and grace, and to be captivated by His love for you and those around you.”

 

Ephesians 3:17-19 TLB “And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts, living within you as you trust in him. May your roots go down deep into the soil of God’s marvelous love; and may you be able to feel and understand, as all God’s children should, how long, how wide, how deep, and how high his love really is; and to experience this love for yourselves, though it is so great that you will never see the end of it or fully know or understand it. And so at last you will be filled up with God himself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Water for Runners

  1. JD says:

    I’m so thankful you’re running ahead of me and encouraging both me and these other runners. Love you, Aunt Linda

  2. artechoes says:

    I’m not much further down the road in wisdom, but I have learned a few things. I know more than I did when I began, and I can certainly spot a pothole. I’ve fallen into so many. Love you, JD. Jesus is the prize at the end, and as you know, well worth running after.

Leave a Reply

